50 questions

Probably I’m not profilic enough yet, to write about myself as if anyone would care, but whatever, At least it will be useful if/when I will have a steady readerbase, as an introduction.

So,  Let’s dip into the latest blogosphere bandwagon. 50 questins about my anime preferences, and my life, answered:

Questions about anime

1. Who is your favorite male anime character?

Yagami Light from Death Note . I wasn’t actually rooting for him, but he was still a fascinating character.

2. Who is your favorite female character?

It’s a tie between Suzumiya Haruhi, (may her haters die in a fire), who I’m fascinated with as a person, and Sawako from Kimi ni Todoke who I’m infatuated with in a more “my waifu”-ish way.

3. What is your favorite anime soundtrack?

The Pillows OST for FLCL, hands down. Two and a half years ago, when I fell in love with that show, it made me start properly listening to music, just as it made me watch anime. Before that, I only heard some of the stuff that you can hear in the radio, but The Pillows made me actively look out for good music.

4. What is your favorite anime opening + animation?

The Scrapped Princess OP. It has such an incredibly cheerful atmosphere, that along with all those pictures of natural scenery, makes me wish I would be a travelling adventurer in a fantasy world, waking up in the dewy grass of a hillside at the first touch of the sunlight.

5. What is your favorite anime ending song + animation?

Bakemonogatari – Kimi no Shiranai Monogatari I generally love Ryo’s songs in Supercell, even the Vocaloid ones, but this is the best example of everything he is capable of, and it’s just amplified by Nagi’s incredibly strong voice. Those shifts between the sweet and the strongly shouting parts are like an emotional rollercoaster.

6. What is your favorite anime scene?

It’s from Legend of the Galactic Heroes episode 89, the one with the giant flower bucket.

7. If you could meet an anime character who would it be?

Konata from Lucky Star. She would be a great partner in chatting about nothing, that is also my speciality.

8. What anime character is most similar to you in terms of personality?

Konata from Lucky Star. She would be a great partner in chatting about nothing, that is also my speciality.

9. What is your favorite thing about anime?

The craziness. Even when we call an anime series generic, it has way more unique points than what I experienced in any other media. When even the upcoming season’s most “generic” shows that are pre-emptively dismissed as mindless bullshit,  are a zombie girl romance, and a dystopian sci-fi with an idol rebellion, there you have a ridiculously innovative, experimental media.

10. What is your least favorite thing about anime?

Light novel and manga adaptations that would need a good, conclusive ending, but the source material is way too long and still unfinished, so we get a mellow quasi-ending that doesn’t really finish anything.

11. Who are your favorite anime couple?

Canonically, Sawako/Shouta from Kimi ni Todoke. Non-canonically, Tomoyo/Tomoya based on their route in the Clannad Visual Novel.

12. Who is your favorite anime animal?

As a character, Sakamoto from Nichijou. Best Tsukkomi ever. If you want an actual, non-talking, non-thinking animal, then Botan, the boar from Clannad. 

13. What anime would make a good game?

Legend of the Galactic Heroes would make a great strategy game in the Total War format.

14. What game would make a good anime?

If Visual Novels count too, then G-Senjou no Maou, and Kira Kira are two great stories that should get adaptations.

15. What was the first anime you ever watched?

Technically, it was probably either Superbook, or Candy Candy. At least I have vague memories from my early childhood, of watching both of them. It was a time when commercial TV was introduced in my country, and the starting channels aired all sorts of old cheap movies, anime,  and cartoons for a few months, to fill up the time until they started producing their own program.

16. Do you think you’ll ever stop watching anime?

Only if anime changes too drastically. It’s possible that in the future, there will be a huge shift in anime themes and styles, that would turn me off, just like “moe” turned off all those veterans before me, but as long as it is more or less similar to the current industry, I’m here to stay.

17. What is your favorite genre of anime?

Romantic drama, and romantic comedy.

18. What is your least favorite genre of anime?

Shonen fighting series, and anything else that puts too much emphasis on fighting scenes, such as certain mecha shows.

19. Are you open about watching anime with people you know?

I don’t have any anime fan friends, but yes, I would enjoy it. Especially comedy. Laughing is like yawning, it spreads. Just listening to other people laughing at a joke, makes it funnier.

20. Have you ever been to Japan?

No, and I don’t want to go. I generally don’t like trips and travelling. I like the comfort of my home, I would be completely lost at a foreign place.

21. What anime was the biggest let down for you?

Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai. It should have been at least as good as OreImo or Nogizaka Haruka,  but it ended up being entirely unenjoyable.

22. What anime was better then expected?

Nichijou. I didn’t mind Lucky Star ‘s style either, so I was looking forward to it expecting it to be similar, but the end result was even better.

23. What is the best anime fight scene?

The climatic scene of FLCL, with the pink Naota dual wielding those guitars.

24. Who is your anime waifu?

I mentioned Sawako earlier, but to be honest, I’m way too happy for her and Shouta as a couple, to claim her for myself. If there is any anime girl that I’m interested in as a person and not as a character from a story, it’s probably Saber and Rin from Fate/Stay Night. Don’t ask me to choose one of the two.

25. What was your favorite video game as a child?

Sim City 2000.

Questions about me

26. Most Embarrassing moment?

My classmates where harassing me in the classroom, so I threw my pencil case at them, and it flew out of the window. At least that’s what they told me, actually they quickly grabbed it and then made me believe that it flew out of the window.

27a. Can you drive?

No, I didn’t really need it, I only travel for my daily commute anyways.

27b. Do you own a car?

No

28. Are you mature?

No, I’m 22, but I’m mostly living the same life as when I was 14.

29. What year were you born?

January of 1990, so I’m 22.

30. Do you prefer cats or dogs?

Cats. Cutest little things ever.

31. Describe yourself physically.

Average height, thin figure, unkempt long dark hair, slightly stubbled chin.

32. What would you name your first child?

For a boy, I would have to put serious effort into stopping myself from giving it an overtly badass name. Fortunately, there are enough names that are mainstream here in Hungary, but they still sound kinda badass, such as Zoltán, or Attila. For a girl, it would probably be Tamara.

33. What is the worst injury you have ever had?

Nothing serious.

34. What is your worse habit?

I’m chewing on the inside of my mouth.

35. Do you drink or smoke?

Nope, never even tried either.

36. Do you have a tattoo?

No.

37. Are you a morning person or a night person?

My body wants me to be a morning person, but MAL Updater wants me to be a night person, with downloading all the new anime episodes just when I would want to go to sleep.

38. Have you ever slept past midday

Only when I went to sleep in the morning.

39. Do you regret anything?

I constantly regret minor mistakes, but I get over them pretty quickly.

40. Can you count the number of friends you have on one hand?

Yes.

41. Do you wear glasses?

No.

42. Are you a picky eater?

My mother cooks for me so I can afford to be a picky eater, but when that’s not an option, I can get over it and eat anything with a smile.

43. Would you die for someone?

I would die if it would save multiple people, regardless of my relationship with them. But for a single person, no, not even for someone whom I love.

44. If you could have any superpower, what would it be?

Pausing time. I would love fooling around with my environment while everyone is blinking.

45. Do you believe in the supernatural?

I’m a Christian, I believe in God.

46. Would you rather be rich or famous?

If by “famous”, you mean not just virally internet-famous, but respected all around the world for my achievements, I would choose that, especially if it would allow me to make at least a comfortable living from my fame.

47. Have you ever committed a crime.

I commit crimes all the time, just by comfortably using the Internet, and so do you.

48. Time Traveler or ghost?

Time travel makes better fictional stories, but I would rather be a ghost, and observe how the times are changing over the centuries.

49. Does someone have a crush on you?

Probably not.

50. Are you in a relationship?

No, I’m way too obsessed with the fictional ideal of romance, to engage in something as profane as real life dating. And yes, I’m aware what this sounds like.

One response to “50 questions

  1. Very interesting answers. I really liked what you said in your answer for #9 – I never thought of that! Even if anime is “generic” by anime standards, it’s rarely generic by regular media standards.

    To #28, I’m 26 and also not living much differently than when I was 14 – still living in the same house with my mom and same lifestyle of being into anime. But it’s mostly because currently I’m already done with schooling and am having difficulty finding a job where I can make enough to move out on my own. My mom cooks for me too :3

    Oh, and always good to know another Haruhi fan~

Leave a Reply

